In an effort to optimize and provide the best experience to our active Toggl Track users, we are deleting accounts, organizations, and workspaces that haven’t had new time entry data in the last 6 months. This policy applies only to free-plan organizations. In this article, we will cover the most frequent questions and answers around this topic.
How do I keep my account, organization, and workspace active?
It’s simple — you or one of your team members need to create 1 time entry or edit 1 time entry in the workspace you wish to keep active every 6 months.
If your organization belongs to a paid plan, the workspace associated with it as well as your account will remain active even if you haven't created time entries in the last 6 months.
Do I have any other options to keep my time entry data intact?
If you are not able to create a time entry every 6 months but would like to keep your time entry data, you have 2 options:
You can export your time entry data and reimport it in a new organization/ workspace/ account at a later time.
You can choose one of our paid plans for your organization. User accounts that belong to paid plan organizations, as well as their time entry data in these organizations, won’t be deleted even if they haven’t created a time entry in the last 6 months.
What is the difference between an organization and a workspace?
Organizations: In Toggl Track's data hierarchy, the highest level is Organizations. They enable you to have multiple teams within one Organization, each with its workspace. You can create as many Organizations as you need. It's important to keep in mind that if you've purchased a paid plan in Toggl Track, it only applies to the Organization you were active on during the transaction.
Workspaces: Everything you do in Toggl Track gets allocated to a Workspace: time entries, projects, clients, and tags. Each workspace belongs to an organization. Multiple workspaces per Organization are available for Enterprise pricing only.
Will Toggl Track notify me if my account, organization, and/or workspace is about to be deleted?
Yes. We will send you 3 reminders to the email you have provided in your profile settings. You will have 30 days from the first reminder email to create or edit a time entry and keep your data.
My team and I have tracked time in the last 6 months with Toggl Track, but I keep getting emails saying that my workspace will be deleted. Why is that happening?
If you actively track time with Toggl Track and created at least 1 time entry in the last 6 months, you have nothing to worry about!
Your active workspace(s) and/ or your paid workspaces won't be deleted.
It appears, though, that at some point, you created a free workspace that you no longer use.
You can view all of your organizations and workspaces from any page in the Toggl Track web app by clicking the selector in the top left-hand corner of the screen.
Our company received an email on behalf of a former employee through auto-forwarding. Does this mean that our company’s time-tracking data is at risk?
Rest assured, your data is not at risk as long as at least one member of your team has actively tracked time within the last 6 months on a free plan or if you are on a paid plan organization. The former employee received this message for a workspace they owned, which has been inactive for the past 6 months on a free plan.
I keep getting emails about deleting my account, organization, and/ or workspaces. How do I make them stop?
The emails will stop in both of these cases:
If you wish to keep your data active, create or edit a time entry in the workspace you’d like to keep.
I have more questions regarding this; whom do I reach out to?
Need more help or have suggestions for improvements? Contact our support team via chat using the purple chat button in the bottom-right corner.