Each user account can be connected to one or more organizations. This guide explains how you can leave an organization, or workspace, or close either of these two.

Before doing any of this, please make sure you are on the correct Organization or Workspace as shown below.

Workspace switcher

Deleting or Leaving an Organization

To delete an Organization you need to take a slightly different approach depending on whether you are a single user or if you are tracking time with a team. A single user can simply leave an organization which results in the deletion of that organization. On the other hand, if you have been tracking time with a team you need to remove all other users first before you leave and close an organization.

Leaving an Organization as a Single User

If for some reason, you wish to leave the Organization you are a member of, you can do so quickly from the Team tab.

Click on the 3-dot control next to your name to Leave & Close Organization.

You can also go to Organization > Workspaces tab and click on Leave & Close Organization.

Leaving a Team Organization

If you are the owner of an Organization, or a subscribing member, with other users on it, you will not be able to leave it unless you first remove all users from it.

To do so, go to Team page and Delete all the users one by one using the 3-dot control. Once you are the only user left, you can leave the organization as explained earlier.

Should your business wish to keep the Organization running, but just remove you, please first transfer ownership and subscription ownership to someone else, and you can then leave the organization from the Team tab or the Organization > Workspace.

If you need help moving data to a new workspace before closing your old workspace, please read this guide.

For Enterprise Users: Deleting a workspace

If you are an Enterprise user, you can have multiple workspaces under each organization.

If you wish to only leave one of the workspaces in your Organization, go to Organization > Workspaces > Choose Workspace > Members page, and Leave by using the 3-dot control at the end of the user row next to your name.

Please note: You cannot leave a workspace you are a subscribing member or owner for.

Leave workspace

If you want to delete a workspace with other active members in it you will need to deactivate or delete those members first and then leave the workspace as the only remaining workspace members which will result in it being deleted. 

Keep in mind that a user might have an important role in the workspace preventing you from deleting them, such as the "subscribing member" role. Please transfer these rights before removing the user.

Need further help with closing your workspace? Contact our support team via chat or email

Did this answer your question?