Projects are a key component of how time entries are categorized in Toggl. This guide covers editing, archiving and deleting projects, as well as managing project members.

Editing Projects

To edit a project, go to the Projects page with the left-side menu on the Toggl web app. Once you are there you can use filters to locate the project you need.

You can click on a Project on the list to open it, or use the 3-dot control. The 3-dot control also allows you to go directly to the Summary Report filtered for that Project, archive it or delete it.

Once the Project page is open you can click on the Edit project button in the top right corner to make further changes.

Here, you will be able to:

  • Edit the Project name
  • Add or change the Client it belongs to
  • Change the project color
  • Make a project billable or non-billable
  • Set a Project-specific billable rate (available only to users on paid plans)
  • Set a Project Time Estimate (available only to users on paid plans)
  • Make it Private or Public
  • Set it as a template (available on paid plans)

On the main Project page, you can:

  • View the Project Dashboard (available on paid plans)
  • Add Tasks (available only to users on paid plans)
  • Edit the projects privacy setting by choosing if it will only be visible to its members or to all workspace members
  • Add project members (only available for private projects)

To save all your edits you need to make sure to click the green "Done" button on the upper-right part of your screen. 

Managing Project Members

Project members can only be added to private projects. Everyone on the workspace has access to all Public projects. Read more about access rights here.

To add a new project member, click on the Add Member button on the Project Team tab. At this time, you can set a billable/cost rate (paid plans only) or make them a project manager if you wish.

Users rates and roles can be adjusted from the Project Team tab as well by clicking on the appropriate field. Use the 3-dot control to remove a user from a project if they no longer need access to it. This will prevent them from being able to track time on it in the future.

Bulk editing

To bulk edit projects go to the Projects page using the Toggl web app and click on Bulk edit.

Once you select the project(s) you'd like to bulk edit use, you can choose whether you want to edit, archive or delete the project(s).

After clicking on "Edit" an overlay will appear allowing you to bulk edit team members, client (an existing one or create a new one), change rates, modify privacy setting or change colors

Once you are done with your selection click on the green "Save" button to apply the edits in bulk. 

The edits you choose to apply will be applied to all projects in bulk and override previous values for the elements you chose to edit. 

Archiving projects

Archiving projects is a better way of clearing up your workspace of existing projects you no longer use than deleting them. An archived project can be restored at any time should you need to do restore it.

To archive a project locate it on the "Projects" page, hover over the project you'd like to archive, click on three dots on the right and then click on Archive.

Restoring archived projects

To restore an archive project use the "Active" filter on the "Projects" page and select "Archived".


You can use the rest of the filters to pinpoint the project you need, once you locate it, hover over the Project that you want. On hover, three dots will appear on the right side, click on it and then click on Restore.

Deleting Projects

Once you locate the project you'd like to delete on the "Projects" page hover over it and click on three dots on the right side. Click on Delete and confirm the action.

Important note. Deleting a project will not delete the data (time entries) associated with that project. However, deleting the project will make the related time entries project-less. 

Bulk delete

To bulk delete projects go to the Projects page, click on the Bulk edit button and select the Projects.

Once you select the projects you'd like to bulk delete, click on the "Delete" button:

After clicking "Delete" , a popup with a confirmation dialog will show up:

Deleting projects will result in all time entries previously allocated to those projects will not be without projects. They will be categorized and most likely impossible to find using filters in reports.

Before deleting, especially in bulk, we advise you to export a detailed report into a CSV file so that you can backup your data and are able to import it back into your workspace should you make a mistake.

If you still have any questions about managing projects, feel free to contact our Support team via email or by clicking on the blue icon in the bottom right corner of this page. 

Did this answer your question?