Workspaces can have more than one user, allowing you to track time alongside your team and providing them access the data they need.

In this guide, we cover:

  1. Inviting users to the workspace.
  2. Accepting invites.
  3. Editing workspace members
  4. How to remove users from a workspace.
  5. What's the difference between deleting and deactivating a user.
  6. Reactivating users.
  7. Creating User Groups.
  8. Editing and deleting user groups.
  9. Reviewing Team Activity

Workspace users can be modified, added or removed from the Team page in the web app. These actions cannot be done from mobile apps, desktop apps or Toggl Track Button. 

The Team page has three tabs: Members, Groups and Activity.

Inviting users to the workspace

When you sign up for a Toggl Track account a workspace for your account is created as well by default. Initially, you will be the only workspace member and the Team page will look something like this: 

team page

You'll notice that on the Team Page you can see a user's name, email address, rate and cost (if you are on a paid plan), access rights and if they are part of a user group.

To invite more users into your workspace from the Team Page you need to click on the green 'Invite Members' button located on the top-right corner of the page:

team page invites

Clicking the 'Invite Members' button will trigger a popup to show allowing you to invite new users by submitting their email addresses: 

invite dialog

If you want to invite more than one user at once simply press 'space' on your keyboard after you finish typing the first email address and you will be able to add another one, like so: 

multiple invite dialog

When you submit the email(s) of the user(s) you'd like to invite simply click on the green 'Invite' button at the bottom of that pop-up and there will be a confirmation that invitations have been sent at the lower-right corner of the page: 

invite sent confirmation

If you click to 'view' invitations that you sent you will be taken to the invited users view: 

team page invited

Note: Only admins of the workspace have access to this feature (i.e. can invite people to join the workspace).

Accepting invites

The way that the invite is accepted depends on whether or not the invitee has a Toggl Track account or not. 

Invited user doesn't have a Toggl Track account

Click on the invitation link within the invitation email. Doing so will open Toggl Track and ask you to create a password and accept our TOS: 

Clicking on the invitation link takes you to a page where you can create a password:

Invited user already has a Toggl Track account

Invitees who already have a Toggl Track account must accept the invitation through the web app. More specifically, via the notification centre. Click on the small bell icon in the upper-left on the web app to view all notifications.

in-app invite accept

Editing workspace members

While on the 'Members' tab on the Team Page simple click on the three vertical dots on the far right of a user's name to see additional options and select 'Edit':

edit member

Clicking the 'Edit' options triggers a popup allowing you to edit the user's name, email, access level, group(s) they belong to and, depending on the subscription you are on, billable rate and labour cost:

edit member dialog

How to remove users from a workspace?

There are two ways you can remove users from your workspace (and your subscription if you are on a paid plan): 

1. You can deactivate users
2. You can delete users. 

Here's how deactivating and reactivating a user is done: 

deactivating users team page

Here's how deleting a user is done: 

deleting users team page

You may have noticed that deactivating a user is a reversible action, you can choose to reactivate that same user at a later date. Deleting a user is not reversible and you would need to re-invite that user back into your workspace if you would like to have them as a workspace member again later on. Also, 

Keep in mind that both actions will result in lower subscription costs if you are on a paid plan. 

What's the difference between deleting and deactivating a user?

Deactivating a user is a reversible action, you can choose to reactivate that same user at a later date. It also places them under the Inactive view on the Team Page. Inactive users are not counted for the purposes of calculating subscription costs.

Please note that neither deleting or deactivating users deletes their data (tracked time) but it is easier to find data for deactivated users. Delete user time loses it's association with the person who tracked it. For this reason we recommend the deactivation of users, rather than deleting them

With deleted users you would need to use a special approach.

Deleting a user completely removes the user from the workspace and is not a reversible action. In order to rejoin they need to be invited again. We recommend you use this only in cases where you're certain the user will never need to track time in your workspace again and if you don't need to view their data in regular reports like you did while they were active in your workspace, hence this warning will appear when you try to delete a user: 

delete member dialog

Reactivating users

Switch to the 'inactive' view on the Team Page to see all deactivated users. Move your mouse over the three vertical dots on the far right of the name of the user you want to reactivate.

activating user

When a dropdown arrow appears, click on it and select Activate from the menu that appears.

Creating user groups

User groups are a great way to combine multiple users for easier use. User groups can be used to easily assign multiple users to a project, as well as filtering by group in the Reports tab.

To create a user group simply switch over to the 'Groups' tab on the Team Page and click on 'Add Group':

user group creation


Clicking the 'Add Group' button will trigger a popup allowing you to set the group name and add users from the available active and invited users who haven't accepted the invitation yet: 

adding members to group

Editing and deleting user groups:

While on the 'Groups' tab on the Team Page simple click on the three vertical dots on the far right of a group's name to see additional options and select to edit or delete a group: 

edit dialog

Clicking on 'Edit' will show that same popup the one that shows up when you start creating a group allowing you to change it's name and members: 

edit group dialog

Clicking on 'Delete' will show you a popup warning you how that will affect the users within the group and asking you to reconfirm your selection:

deleting group dialog

Reviewing Team Activity

Review recent time entries your team members have created on the Team Activity tab. Only Admins can access this page unless the Workspace Setting for this is set to everyone.

team activity example

View the most active team members in the last 7 days as well as review Activity by User or even the Last 20 time entries using the dropdown filter.

I can't find the invitation email. What do I do?

If you can't find the email in your Spam or bulk folder, please ask an Administrator of the Workspace to copy the invitation link and send it to you.

copy invite

On the Team Page an Administrator can click on the three vertical dots on the far right next to the name of an invited user. 

When a dropdown arrow appears, they can click on it and select Copy invitation link from the menu that appears.

In these rare situations, it's best to ask an Administrator to cancel the invitation. They can do this on the Team Page, but select Delete instead of Copy invitation link.

Afterward, create a Toggl Track account using the same email address, then ask the Administrator to invite the email address you used. You should now see the invitation when you log in.

Need further help managing your team in Toggl Track? Reach out to our support team via chat or email.

Did this answer your question?