Asana

 

In this article:  how to set up the sync with Asana, what can be synced, automatic synchronization and how to stop the sync.

.

About Asana

When it comes to the speed, complexity, and scope of our modern work, basic email is no longer up to the task. Figuring out what needs to get done, getting on the same page, and finding the right information in your email is inefficient. 

Asana has re-imagined team communication from the ground up. Conversations and tasks are in one place, so everything is actionable and transparent. When less of your time is spent in email, you’ll have more time to get work done.

 

How to set up the sync?

The Asana sync is found on the Import and Export page in the Toggl webapp, which you’ll find once you click on “…More” from the left side menu. This is what you’ll see:

 

asana-integration

.

(If you click on the “Import/Export” button and nothing shows up, wait a moment for the services to load on the page)

To start setting up the integration, click on the green “Enable” button. This will direct you to a page that will ask you to give Toggl Pipes the permission to access your Asana account:

.

Screen Shot 2014-08-19 at 21.17.05

 

To proceed, click “Allow” and you’ll be directed back to the Import page in Toggl.

   .

What am I able to sync?

 .

Data can be synced through 3 individual “pipes”, which can be configured separately. You’re able to import from Asana:

  .

  • Users – Asana users will be imported as Toggl users. Existing users are matched by e-mail. When importing users, you’re able to select exactly which users do you wish to import. New users will be imported as “inactive” users, that can be activated on the Team page.
  • Projects – Asana projects will be imported as Toggl projects. All existing projects will be matched by name.
    Imported projects are set up as ‘public’. Please note that even if you have assigned users to tasks in Asana, this information isn’t imported as ‘public’ projects don’t have a project team. You are able to change this setting and assign users to Tasks on Project Edit page.

.

NOTE: (Due to some recent changes in Asana’s API, we are no longer able to fetch tasks from Asana. Because of this we had to disable tasks synchronization on the Import page.)

If you have multiple accounts in Asana, you’re guided to choose which account you wish to import from each time you set up a sync.

  .

Once the sync is complete, Toggl will let you know whether the sync was successful and show you what was imported – also, how much time it took. If there are problems, you can check the log for more details. Please note that only projects that the authorizing user has access to can be imported.

  .

   .

Please note:
The “Sync now” button doesn’t trigger an immediate synchronization. It will place your synchronization in a queue, the actual synchronization will happen a bit later (during a busy period it could be an hour or even more).

Automatic synchronization

This will look for new things to import at least once an hour (not available for users’ import), and can be enabled from the cogwheel menu that is right next to the Sync button.

You can trigger a manual sync anytime –  just click on the “Sync” button!

 

Stopping the sync

Since both pipes are individual, you’re able to manage them separately as well. To delete the configuration for one particular pipe, choose “Delete configuration” from the cogwheel menu next to the Sync button.

To stop the sync across both, choose “Delete configuration” from the lone cogwheel menu at the top right of the pipes.

 



If you didn't find what you were looking for, please write to support@toggl.com and we are happy to help!


Was this article helpful?
Yes
No
Thanks for giving us thumbs up! Any feedback is still welcome! Thanks for the feedback! Any ideas what we could do better?

* Please leave your e-mail if you'd like us to get back to you :)

Thanks for your feedback! We're always working to help you better!
Oops! Something broke. We're working on fixing it. Sorry
TOP