Now that you've added team members to your Toggl workspace we'd like to share a few tips on how best to manage your team and track where they spend most of their time. This will give you better control over your projects, help you manage your team better and identify room for improvement. 

Initially, when you add users to a workspace they are treated as regular users. Your account will have administrator access by default but you can also grant admin access to other users in your workspace. Another user role that will come in handy is the project manager role which can only be assigned to project members of a private project. To learn more about user access rights and project privacy settings please check out our Access rights and privileges article. 

Assigning team members to a project

Toggl projects can be public or private. By default, all projects are created as private projects and those are the ones we will be focusing on now because only private projects can have project members. 

You can add project members to a private project from its settings page. To access the settings page for a specific project you need to locate the project on the Projects page. You can either scroll through the list of projects or use the filters at the top of the list to quickly find the project you need. 

Once you locate the project you wish to add members to, all you need to do is click on it to access its settings page where you will be able to add projects members using the 'Team' tab: 

As you can see, from that same page you can choose to make one of the team members a manager for that project - otherwise, by default, the project manager will be the user who created the project initially. Only project team members will be able to access the private project and use it to allocate time entries. 

Running reports

All time entries created by your team members can be viewed on the Reports page. By default, when you go to the Reports page you will see the Summary Report but there's also a Detailed and a Weekly report view providing you with a different insight into your team's activity. 

All three report types have a set of filters allowing you to single out the data you need to see for your selected date range. There's also an exporting function and the ability to create a Saved Report or even a scheduled one to be sent out at custom intervals. 

All team members have access to the reports page, but only administrators can see all of the data on that page and edit the data if needed. Project managers can see public projects and private projects they are a part of, the same as regular users.

Did this answer your question?