What is the purpose of workspace owners?
Workspace owners control the data associated with their workspace. In general, there are two types of data in Toggl:
- User data which belongs to each individual user account
- Workspace data which belongs to the workspace owner
User data refers to data such as username, email, location, connected workspaces, and other account-specific data.
Workspace data refers to all data related to the subscription, time entries, projects, clients, tags and tasks created within a workspace. Legally speaking, all the data in a workspace belongs to that workspace and is controlled by the workspace owner.
A practical example here would be if you were to leave or be deactivated from a workspace, all the data you created within that workspace will no longer be available to you, it remains within the workspace and is controlled by the workspace owner.
How does a user become the workspace owner?
When a workspace is created, the user who created it becomes the workspace owner by default. While a single user can be the owner in multiple workspaces, each workspace will have only one owner.
A workspace always has an owner, the owner is always an administrator in the workspace and can not be removed or deactivated until the ownership is transferred to another member of the workspace with admin access rights.
How to transfer workspace ownership to another user in the workspace?
To transfer workspace ownership, the current workspace owner needs to reach out to email@example.com directly using their Toggl account email address. In this email they should request transfer of ownership and identify which member of the workspace will be the new workspace owner. The future owner needs to have administrator access rights before workspace ownership is transferred to them.
How do I know who is the current workspace owner?
The current workspace owner can be identified on the Team page, there will be a blue "owner" label next to their name along with the green "admin" label under the "Access" column: